Events

February             

February 29, 2024          

11:00 AM MST (1:00 PM EST)     

Best Practices for Inclusivity in Course Preparation

Presenter: Kelley Wick, Doctoral Candidate, University of Nebraska-Lincoln                           

Join Kelley Wick, co-chair of the SSEA Anti-Racism & Social Justice topic network, to learn about ideas and best practices for inclusivity in course preparation and materials.         

Zoom registration link: https://uic.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcsd-6rrj8uE9evJATNBsKnCap0e1wCzV5R 

Host: Melissa Fenton

March  

March 28, 2024

12:00 PM CST (1:00 PM EST)

Precarious Protections: Unaccompanied Minors Seeking Asylum in the US.   

Presenter: Chiara Galli, Ph.D, University of Chicago           

Chiara Galli will present her book, Precarious Protections, an ethnography describing Central American unaccompanied minors’ experiences in the US asylum process, a system that too-often denies the rights and protections of formal refugee status to children who fled life threatening violence. She will discuss the spillover effects of the legal process on immigrant youths’ everyday lives as they come of age under the gaze of the state and their life course transitions are forestalled by legal limbo and the denial of rights. 

Zoom registration link: https://uic.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwrdeuhqzkpGd0nxl9_NvClewzeB5yUO_aD            

Host: Daysi Diaz-Strong